Ask A Question

Family Guide to Call of Duty Warzone

Call of Duty: Warzone is an online shooting game. It's played with 150 other players with teams in squads of 1 to 4 players. As with other battle royale games, the map on which you play shrinks to great intense finale shot downs. This, combined with the popular Call of Duty franchise, makes the game popular.

There are two main game modes, Battle Royal and Plunder, but also limited time events that incorporate new game modes.

Battle Royal has 150 players battling to be the last squad standing. The map gets smaller in the playable area throughout the duration of the game. If players die they have a chance to respawn for free by winning in the Gulag: a one on one fight with random weapons. Players can be bought back into the game if squamates have collected enough cash. If all squad members die and lose the Gulag they are eliminated from the match.

Plunder is similar but instead of being the last squad standing, squads are racing to collect the most cash as possible. Once any team reaches 1 million cash collected a two-minute bonus round starts. The squad with the most cash at the end of the two minutes wins the game. Squads gain cash by killing other teams, completing contracts, and searching for cash around the map. Plunder has no Gulag and squads keep respawning throughout the whole match.


You can play the game for free on Xbox One, Xbox Series X|S, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5 and PC. Call of Duty: Warzone has cross-platform and cross-generation play on Xbox One, Xbox Series X|S, PS4, PS5, PC. You can tie your profile, progression, and statistics to an Activision account and switch between platforms without losing in-game progress.


Warzone is free to play requiring no subscription for PC and PlayStation but requires Xbox Live to play. In-game purchases and battle passes are shared with Call of Duty: Modern Warfare. Similarly, you can buy cosmetic packs with COD Points (CP) which is bought with real money. There is a free Battle Pass that will reward up to 200 CP and cosmetic items. The Battle Pass has a premium level that cost 1000 CP with more cosmetic items and rewards up to 1300 CP.

You can set up spending reports and spending limits via the system Parental Controls on Xbox, PlayStation and PC. This means a player would need your PIN to make any purchases.

Age Ratings

Warzone is rated PEGI 18 due to depictions of graphic violence towards human-like characters. Violence involves the use of a wide array of weapons, from guns through to rocket launchers and explosives. When characters are shot, they react realistically with some blood splatter. A cut scene shows an enemy character's throat being cut, in slow motion, resulting in sight of blood spray from the wound.

You can set up age-rating limits via the system Parental Controls on Xbox, PlayStation and PC. This means a child would need your PIN to access the game.

You can also set the following, although there are no passwords to stop them being turned back on:

  • Turn Off Blood: Reduce or disable graphic content of blood and gore.
  • Turn Off Dismemberment: Disable graphic depiction of dismembered bodies and corpses.


If you have younger players in your family, here are some age-appropriate alternatives:

Plants Vs Zombies (PEGI 7)

Screencheat (PEGI 7)

Phantom Forces (Roblox) PEGI 7

War Thunder (PEGI 12)

Apex Legends (PEGI 16)

You can also browse games by skill-rating in these skill-rated lists if you are looking for a more accessible game for younger players.

Avatar for Andrew Robertson
Andrew Robertson
Andy Robertson is the editor of AskAboutGames and has written for national press and broadcast about video games and families for over 15 years. He has just published the Taming Gaming book with its Family Video Game Database.